It’s been a while…

Yes it has hasn’t it. Blogging has certainly fallen by the wayside over the last wee while ( 4 months!!). So what’s new?

Loads. I’ve been working on my jewellery a lot. Still doing a lot of teaching and some project work and mentoring too. It would take a long long time to fill you in on everything that has happened over the last few months so I’m not going to bother. Instead I will fill you in on what I am currently doing and working towards.

Firstly as I said I have been making a lot of jewellery. I’ve had a couple of great commissions as well as designing and making brand new work for upcoming shows such as the Spring Fling @Home Exhibition at Gracefield Arts Centre in Dumfries. As I said it is brand spanking new work and I’d say it possibly shows signs of some new directions/ranges for my work.

ring1The work is inspired by costume jewellery and, as always, the combination of metal and textiles with the addition of gemstones this time. It has given me loads of ideas for new everyday wear jewellery too so as always keep your eyes peeled. This new work will hopefully be launched at the next Create show at Off the Rails Arthouse in Ladybank and Spring Fling in Dumfries and Galloway.

What else? Well I am trying to plan for the rest of the year. ie post Spring Fling. I’d like to organise another Anomaly exhibition possibly in July and/or one nearer Christmas but only time will tell. Planning is obvioulsy key and if I’ve learnt anything from 2013 it is to try not to take on so much.

I now have a few small items selling online which is pretty exciting so if you get the chance please do visit, Culture Label, NY Tartan Week and Yorkshire Sculpture Park Websites. If you are interested in seeing my work in the flesh just have a look at the exhibitions pages of my website.

Oh and guess what…I’ve got a wee national feature in a Sunday magazine coming up very soon so keep your eyes peeled for that. They’re sending a photographer to my workshop on Monday so I’ll need to practise my best relaxed professional face.

IMG_5014

Leave a Reply

